Ahmad Ayyash
2 min readSep 17, 2020

Home is far away-

I have a long way to go but have no ride to take me there, rain is coming and the weight of the day rests on my shoulder. I want to let it go for a moment.Home is far away..

since i was fourteen I’ve been on my toes my entire life, the things that are required of me are always a bit higher than my hands can reach. The world’s expectations stand before me like the everest. The higher i aim, the higher this mountain of stress grows. I know i can never rest. The pills won’t extinguish my discontent, so i just bite my tongue and battle the night. Now i understand why standing in line is the first thing they teach you as a child, ‘Human Interaction’ has become an oxymoron. The world is brimming with interactions, but there is no place for anything human within them.

I once dreamed because i was afraid of becoming ordinary, now it’s all i want. As i stand so long in the rain, I realize that if you don’t grow, even growing pains are nothing but pain. The older i get, the more afraid i become. Im running but my feet and my heart have forgotten why. Dreams have become baggage, my only option is to leave them and keep running. They tell me to just take one more step, I raise my head and see that I’m in front of a cliff, behind me expectations are lined up pretending that they’re keeping me standing when really they are busy pushing.

The commas I needed in my life have become entangled with numbers. The world lends a calculated hand. I don’t want to reach for it, but I’m more afraid of being left empty handed. Time isn’t the only thing that goes even when you hold it back.

I look at the cloudy skies I once could dream. but tonight it’s hard to even close my eyes. Could you please for a moment stop and give me a lift? i can’t walk any longer, the wind is blowing and even still i have a long way to go but have no ride to take me there.. rain is coming and the weight of the day rests on my shoulder

I want to let it go for a moment.

Home is far away. Things I have to do, the money I have to make…there was something more than that. Is there no place for me in this big world? Am i the only one in this road? Is there one seat for me?

Now I realized I run too far, what actually I am after? Is it really home? where is my home?

Home is so far away.

Ahmad Ayyash

I'm Ayyash, a poet on a mission to heal souls with words. Through my verses, I embrace my scars and aim to inspire others to find pride in their own and heal.